Manual

Agile Apex Manual

 

Controls

Double click on a project, sprint, release or task row and it will open. Use right mouse click on a table to add or edit items.

 

Projects

When user has logged in first time there is no projects and the Projects page is empty.

 

Managing projects

User can view, add, edit or delete project by clicking right mouse button in the project list area. Project contains Name, optional Description, optional Task id prefix and Status fields. The Status field is just informational, it has no functionality currently. The Task id prefix will be prefix in every task id in the project. The Task id prefix can not be changed after the project has been created. User must have sufficient authorization in order to add, edit or delete project.

 

User can create unlimited amount of projects. One project can contain unlimited amount of releases and one release can contain unlimited amount of sprints. The right side of the split panel shows project, release or sprint releted information.

 

Releases

User can view project's releases by double clicking the project row in the project list. User can view, add, edit or delete release by clicking right mouse button in the release list area. Release contains Name, optional Description and Status fields. The Status field is just informational, it has no functionality currently. User must have sufficient authorization in order to add, edit or delete release.

 

Sprints

User can view release's sprints by double clicking the release row in the release list. User can view, add, edit or delete sprint by clicking right mouse button in the sprint list area. Sprint contains Name, optional Description and Status fields. The Status field is just informational, it has no functionality currently. User must have sufficient authorization in order to add, edit or delete sprint.

 

Tasks and task trees

User can view task trees by double clicking sprint row in the sprint list or from Backlogs or Task board pages. User can create task trees with unlimited depth. Task trees are very flexible. Tasks can be logically organized as needed and task order is preserved. For example, top level task can serve as subject lines or theme organizers. Next picture shows one example how to organize tasks in product backlog.

 

Managing tasks

User can view, add, edit or delete task by clicking right mouse button in the task tree area. Task contains Name, optional Description, optional Effort, optional Point person and Status fields. The Status field is just informational, it has no functionality currently. User must have sufficient authorization in order to add, edit or delete task.

 

Sprint planning

Sprint planning can be made in Projects page after selecting specific project, release and sprint. User may drag-and-drop tasks between sprint and product backlogs. Sprint backlogs are task trees and user with sufficient authorization can add, edit or delete task in sprint backlog.

 

Product backlog

Product backlog can be viewed from Backlogs page or from Projects page after selecting specific project, release and sprint. Product backlogs are task trees and user with sufficient authorization can add, edit or delete task in product backlog.

 

Task board

The Task board page shows task tree in specific project, release and sprint. User with sufficient authorization can add, edit or delete task in task board.

 

User management

The Admin page shows users in the application.

 

User with admin authorization can view, add, edit and delete users by clicking right mouse button in the user list area. User entry contains unique User name, First name, Last name, Password and Authorization fields. The password must have at least six characters.

 

Settings

User can change her user name, password and other profile information in the Settings page.

 

Following table describes differencies in authorization levels.

Viewer Reporter Sprint planner Manager Admin
Can view project, release, sprint and task
Can edit task
Can move task between product and sprint backlogs
Can edit, add and delete sprint
Can edit, add or delete project and release
Can manage users

Notes about user management:

  • When user is deleted, all user references are also removed from every application object. For example, user name is removed from task's Point person field and project's Created by field.
  • There must be at least one user with Admin authorization.